Chronology of Youth History by Raja Abel

Beginning

In 1952 under the patronage of Rev JV York the YFS of Christ church Galle Face Tamil Congrgation was founded.

Milestones

- 1972 Celebrated the 20th anniversary
- 1982 Celebrated the 30th Anniversary under the Patronage of Rev Bennette Balasingh
- 1982 Mr Joshua Jesudasan took over the leadership of the CCYM also acted as the Secretary of the NCC
 - Mr S Simon took over the Vice Presidency of the CCYM tamil wing.
 - Mr Jeyaraj Selliah took over as the President of a Sub Committee
- 1986- Under the guidence of Rev J S Charles and President Mr R Abel introduced the Youth Sunday which is celebrated every fourth Sunday of the Month.

This event has already seen 250 Sunday services.

A banner for the YFS was introduced. A Christmas Getogether was held at Hotel Orchard for the first time with the partcipation of senior and past members of the YFS 1987 A monthly news letter "Valibar Arangu" was introduced by Mr MMG Samuel who was the President

- 1994Christy Watson who was the President with the guidence of Rev Isaac Selveratnam conducted a three day camp with a theme of "*Vithai onru virutchamahirathu*" A musical with a them of Voice of Calvary was held.
- 1996 An active member of the YFS Mr Jeyaraj Sellaih was consecreted as a priest.
- 2001 Mr Paul Paulraj who was the president was instrumental in presenting a programme "Samathana Ganangal"
- 2003 Celebrated the 50th Anniversary . this celebration was titled as THUTHI SAMARPANAM under the guidence of Mr Ashok Selvaraj who was the president

CCYM

- 1982 Mr Joshua Jesudasan took over the leadership of the CCYM also acted as the Secretary of the NCC
 - Mr S Simon took over the Vice Presidency of the CCYM tamil wing.
 - Mr Jeyaraj Selliah took over as the President of a Sub Committee
- 1994 Won the Bible quizz competition. Team consisted Mr Aathavan Selveratnam, Mr Ashok Selveraj Ms Flora Phillips Ms Surendirini Coilpillai,
- 1998 Mr Christy Watson became the President of the CCYM Sub Committee and Mr Anslem Phillip as a committee member.

SPORTS

- 1972 Entered the CCYM cricket Tournament for the first time.under the captaincey of Mr Anandaraj Balan
 - In addition to our own team we also fielded a combined team with rhe youths of the English congrgation. Rev Dilo Canagasabai the present Archdeacan of Nweraeliya was a member of this team.
- 1987 Won first place in Atheletics conducted by the CCYM
- 1995- Came Second in the Apex International Cricke tournament. The team was captained by Mr S W Balan
- 1997 Came second in the sports festivel under the captaincy of Mr Alex Simon
- 1998 Came First in the sports festival and produce many champions under different age groups

Men Under - 17 - Lloyd David Women Under -- 17 - Ms. Nadeeka Over 21 Men - I. Daniel

Cricket

Men - Joint Champs Ladies - Second